Twitter, Bookmarks, and Google CSE

twitter_logo_header  

custom_search_sm
    Now that I have subscribed to all the newsletters and rss feeds associated with my current bookmarks, now its time to find out which of them have other social networking sites that I should be a part of and follow them on.  

    My first stop was twitter.  But, upon opening my bookmarks ready to go through them one by one, I realized that this method was going to take a while.  With hundreds of sites to go to, this could have taken hours.  So I looked for a better way.

    Thinking it would be great to just search my bookmark database, I tried but it only returned search results of the titles and urls of my bookmarks.  It was the content that I was after.  Next, I investigated Google Bookmarks because I figured their service would use the Google engine to search the content of the bookmarks.  However, this was not the case.  Still no results from the content of the bookmarks.  Hmmm.

    Persistence paid off when I found what Google calls “Custom Search Engine on the fly”.  This is designed for people to embed on their website so viewers can search the content of the links found on that page.  Then, it dawned on me.  I could export my bookmarks as an html file and embed the search tool into that page so that it would search all the links found on that page. In this case my bookmarks!!!!

    Here’s an example.  Type “twitter”, or “myspace”, or “newsletter” in the search box to see how it works.  Then, go there and subscribe if you’re interested!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

