Network Database

pic1

  There are a good handful of contact directory sites with a bunch of contact names and addresses for the music industry.  But, as you can probably tell there is a lot of dated or plain nonsense out there.  So, I decided to go through and build my own music business networking database.  As I read business articles about music projects that I’m interested in, I’m going to google the different business people associated with those projects and assign them into the corresponding category.  My categories are (in no specific order):  Libraries, Organizations, Photographers, Radio, Promotion, Authors, Technicians, Attorneys, Consultants, Producers, Studios, Record Companies, Managers, Publicists, Songwriters, and Musician Referral Representatives.

  My plan is to first develop a small but strong database of people I would like to work with.  Their location is not such a vital thing since this is a web networking idea.  Plus the people that show up on the top of the results are gonna be the most modern and hot industry people

  Then via email subscriptions and rss feeds, I’m going to keep up on what’s going on in their business and contact them every now and then with congratulations on the success of their current projects.  My theory is that after a while, my name will be familiar to them.  I will make them aware of my capabilities and hopefully start to get some work out of exclusively web networking.

  My end goal is to collaborate on any level with these people who are associated with the acts that I love.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

